National Women’s Soccer League Releases 2017 Schedule

Club will host Portland Thorns in home opener on April 22; NC Courage to open inaugural season on the road in Washington on April 15 Cary, NC (March 1, 2017) - The National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL) released the schedule for the 2017 season today. The North Carolina Courage will begin their inaugural season on the road at Washington Spirit on April 15, before hosting USWNT standout Tobin Heath and the Portland Thorns on April 22 in the first ever NC Courage match at Wake-Med Soccer Park.

"Schedule release is always full of expectation and hope,” said NC Courage Head Coach Paul Riley. “With the Courage playing our first game in history, it has extra spice and excitement. There are so many quality teams in the league, and every game is a battle. Fans love the competitive element of the league, and I'm sure throughout the country they are buzzing with anticipation to get the 2017 season rolling."

The NWSL will play a 24-game regular-season schedule, with each team playing 12 home and 12 away games while competing in a single table. 
Rivalries, regional travel and competitive parity were all taken into account as each team will play three games against six opponents and meet the other three teams twice. Each club will host every other team in the league at least once.

The NWSL will observe international FIFA dates three times during the 2017 season as players return to their national teams to compete during the weekends of June 10-11, July 29-30 and Sept. 16-17. This is designed to ensure the league’s substantial and growing pool of international talent will be available for every match and allow fans to experience the best competition and highest level of women’s professional soccer across the globe.

The playoffs will commence after the 2017 regular season concludes on Sept. 30. Complete playoff details will be announced at a later date. 
After the home opener on April 22, the NC Courage will host the Orlando Pride on April 29, before embarking on a two-game road trip to visit the Boston Breakers on May 7 and Orlando on May 14.

Highlights of the inaugural 2017 NC Courage season include a July tilt against Sky Blue FC, kicking off Independence Day week in style. The NC Courage will close out the regular season by hosting Orlando on September 30. The home schedule for the NC Courage’s inaugural season can be found below, for the full schedule click here.

North Carolina Courage group tickets and season tickets are now on sale, and individual tickets will go on sale mid-March. Fans interested in more information about membership should visit or call the NCFC Box Office at 919-459-8144.

2017 NC Courage Home Schedule

Date: Opponent Time
Sat., April 22 Portland Thorns FC 7:30 p.m.
Sat., April 29 Orlando Pride 4:00 p.m.
Sun., May 21 Chicago Red Stars 4:00 p.m.
Wed., May 24 Sky Blue FC 7:30 p.m.
Sat., June 3 FC Kansas City 4:00 p.m.
Sat., June 17 Boston Breakers 7:30 p.m.
Sat., July 1 Sky Blue FC 4:00 p.m.
Sat., July 8 Seattle Reign FC 4:00 p.m.
Sat., August 5 Seattle Reign FC 4:00 p.m.
Sat., August 19 Washington Spirit 4:00 p.m.
Sat., September 9 Houston Dash 7:30 p.m.
Sat., September 30 Orlando Pride 7:30 p.m.