Commissioner Levine Cava Selected to Serve on the Florida Association of Counties Water Policy Committee

Author  Mia DeVane

MIAMI-DADE – Miami-Dade County Commissioner Daniella Levine Cava was selected to serve on the Florida Association of Counties (FAC) Water Policy Committee. Commissioner Levine Cava will bring to the committee her experience as a local leader on critical water issues such as Everglades restoration, Biscayne Bay conservation and water pollution prevention. resizeimage 31Commissioner Levine Cava will serve alongside 36 other county commissioners from across the state. 

“I am honored and excited to represent Miami-Dade County on the Water Policy Committee as water is our most critical natural resource,” said Commissioner Levine Cava. “Water is the foundation of our communities and our economy; it must be protected and conserved.” 

As a member of the Water Policy Committee, Commissioner Levine Cava will play a key role in addressing the widespread water crisis affecting Florida coastlines, lakes, springs, estuaries and rivers. The Commissioner has long been an advocate on water protection and conservation issues and is often referred to as the local “Water Warrior.” 

“A number of local leaders from across the state stepped forward to participate,” said FAC President and Hendry County Commissioner, Karson Turner. “This committee represents the diverse water needs from every water basin in the state and their commitment to their communities and willingness to address these recurring issues head on.” 

The committee, which was created with a mission for counties to set policy priorities on the local, state and federal level, will take the lead in working with the state and Governor Ron DeSantis who signed Executive Order 19-12 shortly after taking office, which emphasizes the need to engage local government officials to help protect Florida’s vulnerable coastline and natural resources. 

The Water Policy Committee will be meeting for the first time during the Association’s Legislative Day in Leon County on March 27, 2019. 

A full list of the Water Policy Committee members can be viewed on the FAC website: