JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 62


Eva Sevilla
The Morris K. Udall and Stewart L. Udall Foundation recently announced Miami Dade College (MDC) civil engineering major Eva B. Sevilla as one of 80 college students nationwide to be named as a 2010 Udall Scholar. Udall scholars were chosen based on their commitment to careers in the environment, health care or tribal public policy; leadership potential; and academic achievement.
On Tuesday, May 11, 2010 from 1:30 pm to 5:00 pm, the Florida Memorial University Presidential Search Committee will host a campus forum to introduce the top three finalists for president to the campus family. “Our initial pool of eighty applicants vying for the presidential position has been narrowed down to an impressive three,” stated Charles W. George, chairman of the Board of Trustees. “Each candidate would bring certain strengths to the institution that would further advance our mission, so our choice will be a difficult one,” he continued.
History-making pilot Barrington Irving will receive the President’s Meritorious Achievement Award during Florida Memorial University’s Annual Spring Commencement Ceremony at 8:30 am on Saturday, May 1, 2010 at the University’s outdoor Clock Tower Promenade. In addition, Barrington will graduate magna cum laude from the institution with a Bachelor of Science degree in aeronautical science with a concentration in flight education. In 2007, Barrington became the first pilot of African descent and the youngest person ever to fly solo around the world.
ImageDue to popular demand, Robinson School will open a Coed Boarding Program in August 2010, for students from grade 9th to 12th. The Boarding Program is part of Robinson's world class, American college preparatory curriculum, announced Nan Wodarz, Head of Robinson School.